Nestled among Amish farms, in the rolling hills
of southern Indiana, sits the historic French Lick Resort. The town and resort first became known
for their mineral springs, when Dr. William
Bowles opened the original French Lick Springs
Hotel in 1845. The healing power of the waters
drew people from all over the country to feel
its soothing effects; the French Lick Hotel and
Casino still occupy the same spot 180 years later.
Ten years after the construction of the French Lick Springs Hotel, in 1855, the West
Baden Springs Hotel was built nearby to capitalize on the mineral waters, as well.
The hotel was completely destroyed by a fire in 1901 and a new hotel was built
on the site. It was reopened in 1904 and with its large domed ceiling, became the
eighth wonder of the world. It is still a marvel today with its large open atrium that
In 1901, local businessman and former French Lick Mayor, TomTaggert recognized
the business potential of the mineral springs and formed a syndicate to purchase
the French Lick Springs Hotel. He built a spa, charged customers to use the springs
and distributed the bottled spring water around the world.
NWO Golf Links